h1

The best shows you’re (probably) not watching

December 17, 2008

It occurred to me the other night that I’m pretty sure I’m the only person I know who watches “Chuck.”

I mean, other people might watch it, but they don’t talk about it the way they talk about, say, “Gossip Girl,” which comes on at the same time. But I don’t watch “Chuck” at 8 p.m. on Mondays when it airs, because I’m usually watching “The Big Bang Theory” and “How I Met Your Mother” on CBS. I usually catch “Chuck” on Tuesday nights on hulu.com. Things will get more complicated when Fox moves “House” to Monday nights. Thank Dolly for Tivo.

Anyway, last night I was watching “Chuck” and came to the conclusion that it’s probably one of the most consistently entertaining shows on television. It might not be innovative like “30 Rock” or as allegorical as “Mad Men.” It’s not the flashy star in my television lineup, but the consistently solid player that never fails to deliver. If my television lineup is the Atlanta Hawks, “Chuck” isn’t sometimes-spectacular and sometimes-spectacularly-awful Josh Smith (J-SMOOOVE), but the always-consistent Marvin Williams (old duck butt) who posted a double-double in the last game I watched.

The Christmas episode of “Chuck” was an example of why it’s such an entertaining show. There were hilarious moments, thrilling moments, sly jokes, action sequences and visual gags. And the episode pushed forward the story arc that the writers have been building all season.

But you know what other show is good that you’re probably not watching? “Samantha Who?” Christina Applegate is charming as hell and the supporting cast–Melissa McCarthy, Jennifer Esposito, Barry Watson and Jean Smart–is hilarious. Monday nights at 9:30, yo.

Now, this might seem like a weird post to write when these shows are halfway through their seasons and are on holiday hiatus, but what better time than the holidays to get caught up with Season 1 DVDs and back episodes online? None, say I.

The third show you’re (probably) not watching isn’t on TV yet. And the last episode aired in 2007. But it is freaking BRILLIANT, as I discovered one Saturday when FX ran a marathon of “Damages.”

I can’t even begin to describe the plot, so I’m not going to try. I recommend you hie thee to Netflix and have the 13-episode first season sent to you, posthaste. Glenn Close is fabulous, as is Ted Dansen. Ċ½eljko Ivanek’s Emmy award was much-deserved. You know how good “Damages” is? William Hurt and Marcia Gay Harden are joining the cast for Season 2.

Season 2 premiers on Jan. 7 on FX. Seriously, watch Season 1.

And if you need more to watch in the meantime, check out “Chuck’s” Christmas episode and tell me what TV shows you love that no one watches or how much you love the shows I love, too.

<i>I can’t figure out how to embed the hulu video, so visit this link and explain to me how I can embed the video.</i>

4 comments

  1. I can never seem to embed NBC videos either. It’s quite aggravating.

    There are so many shows I need to watch, it’s not even funny. I’ve only seen a couple episode of Mad Men, but need to rent the DVD. I find Christina Applegate adorable, so I should probably watch her show too.

    So many shows, so little time. I did see the game show episode of Golden Girls the other night. “Better to be late than -” and Blanche buzzes in and says, “Pregnant!”


  2. I love Chuck too (I’m a recent convert at the beginning of this season) except haven’t really even bothered to see if others are watching cause I didn’t expect to find anyone. I think the Christmas episode is my favorite one to date, and pushed me from really liking the show to it now being one of my favorites.


  3. I would add “Pushing Daisies” to your list, but it’s been canceled.


  4. @lalaland: That’s such a great episode–the Grab That Dough episode. My favorite is at the end when pissed off Sophia refuses to make the little grabbing motion as the show goes off.

    I’m almost embarrassed to admit this, but I’ve never watched Mad Men. I want to get the first season and start there, but I just haven’t had time yet. It’s on my to-do list, though.
    Another great show that no one watches is Friday Night Lights. It almost jumped the shark last year in an attempt to pull in viewers, but it’s still good. The actors are spot-on playing real teenagers (no Dawson’s Creek bullshit here) and the writing is excellent. It’s the closest thing out there to My So-Called Life.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

