h1

A tale of two lip balms

October 17, 2008

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times.

Oh, who am I kidding. It’s just plain shit times right now, y’all. The economy is tanking, my friends are getting laid off and I’m paranoid I’m next. I need to start thinking about a new car, but who knows if I’ll be able to get a car loan, what with the credit markets as fluid as the Antarctic (world’s largest desert, y’all!). I don’t even want to look at my 401(k) or my company’s stock performance. The ONE saving grace in all this is that gas is actually about $1 cheaper than it was two weeks ago. It’s the little things.

Little things, like lip balm…

My mom’s refrain growing up was, “Put something on your lips,” and never any of that Vaseline shit (newsflash: Petroleum doesn’t actually moisturize). I started early on the fancy stuff from The Body Shop. And let me tell you. When you start out with $8 lip balm, it’s not a long road to $22.50.

Seriously. My favorite lip balm costs $22.50. I won’t spend that on a shirt, but I’ll drop that kind of cash on lip balm?

And the other

Mmm, pretty.

But it’s so nice! It’s got a great soft feeling on the lips and the amazing lemon sugar cookie smell. Plus, it’s got SPF 15. But I’m running out and I need something new.

Enter, Nivea lip care.

Not as pretty, but just as good

Not as pretty, but just as good

Nivea lip balm, while lacking the delicious flavor of the Fresh, or the uber-durable metal screw-on-top container, is just as good, if not better than the Fresh. It’s not waxy or full of shitty petroleum and it keeps my lips nice and soft all day. And more than that, it doesn’t have a tendency to gunk up after a few hours of talking like the Fresh tends to do.

And the best part of all? It costs about $3 a pop. Yes. $3. Which means that I’ve got three of them (a red gloss and a berry tinted one) and they STILL don’t even cost HALF of what the Fresh lip balm does.

Vive la revolution!

5 comments

  1. I have to try this stuff. I’m currently hooked on Victoria’s Secret lip gloss (it has just the right amount of sticky and color) in Oatstanding, a color that they, of course, discontinued. Ulta also makes a really great lip gloss.

    For balms, I’m so old school. I love Bonne Bell. I also love Carmex in a pot (I know it smells mediciney, but I kind of like that) and I found this old fashioned lip balm in a tin pot that I love too. I can’t recall the name of it right now though.


  2. Dotty, is the tin pot Smith’s Rosebud Salve? I love that stuff. It is FANTASTIC. It’s the perfect before-bed lipstuff because it stays on for all 8 (er, 6) hours.

    Plus, it’s only, like $8 a tin and a tin lasts, like, six months. And you can slather it on your elbows and heels and cuticles, too.

    I really need to do a roundup of all my lip products and rank them.


  3. You had me at “lemon sugar cookie smell,” lost me with “tendency to gunk up.”

    Thanks for saving me $22.50!

    I’ll stick with my Burt’s Bees/Dr. Pepper Lip Smackers . . . but am going to pick up some Nivea on my next Rite Aid spree.


  4. I had been lusting after that Fresh lip balm but the “tendency to gunk up” has saved me! Thanks! I’ll have to try the Nivea, does it have SPF?


  5. Thank you. For enabling my product accumulation habit, such as.



Leave a Reply

